Home » Capital Campaign

A unanimous vote of the membership at June 3, 2018 Annual Meeting approved the start of a capital campaign for campus improvements.

Architect Wendell Burnette (Wendell Burnette Architects), hired by the congregation for consulting services, presented the results of the five-month data collection process, and recommendations for campus site improvements.  Members present agreed that the congregation’s growth and ability to meet our longer term goals is dependent on having more and improved worship, faith formation, and parking space. 

The Capital Campaign Committee hired Stewardship for Us (SFU) to perform a Next Steps Weekend (Nov 16-18), followed by a feasibility study (in December), to determine our readiness for beginning a capital campaign. 

A congregational conversation on November 18, 2018 included a presentation by Kay Crider from SFU to give us her first impressions, thoughts, and recommendations, and take questions from members and friends.  She will follow up with the Board and the Committee to finalize plans for the feasibility study.  A sampling of members and friends will be contacted for private meetings in December to discuss their hopes for the project and help Kay to prepare recommendations for a capital campaign.

The Capital Campaign Financial Feasibility Study has been completed, and so far  the results indicate that we should be able to raise enough money within our membership to take steps towards improving VUU’s campus in ways that will truly support our mission and programs. The Capital Campaign Committee is continuing to analyze the report and to explore additional funding mechanisms in support of our collective vision. The Capital Planning Committee is working hard to develop options based on various levels of funding. The options will be presented at a special congregational meeting on February 10th. The Feasibility Study  is available here: http://www.vuu.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Financial-Feasibility-Report-VUU-Dec-2018.pdf

As we continue this journey together, we remain mindful of how an improved and more beautiful space can make a powerful difference in our ability to pursue our own spiritual paths and to share VUU’s message of love, service, and justice with a wider, more diverse audience. Please join us on February 10th as we continue to plan our collective future.  

The Capital Campaign Committee (CCC) is responsible for hiring campaign consultant(s), planning a financial campaign, two-way communication with the congregation relative to campaign goals and requests, communication with lender(s) regarding the borrowing of construction and/or permanent loan funds, communication with the Board and the CPC regarding project planning timeline.  

Mary Wolf-Francis (chair) – marywolffrancis@gmail.com

Members are Barbara Metz, David Sheh, Carl Anderson, Linda Horton (liaison to the Stewardship Team/annual operating pledge), and Musette Steger (Board of Trustee Rep/liaison to the Board).

The Capital Planning Committee (CPC) is responsible for hiring the architect and construction company(ies), working with the City of Chandler, two-way communication with the congregation relative to construction design and timeline, making construction/finish decisions, communication with the Board and the CCC regarding project financing/timeline.

Barb Quijada (co-chair) – bflemingq@gmail.com

Jim Horton (co-chair) – jhorton2739@gmail.com

Members are Beverly McCormick, Nancy Egly, Willa Cree, Justin Grigory, Mark Beehler, Debra Grande, Kasey Smith, Jeff Grout, Rick Hinrichs, Anne Schneider, and Maria Dixon (Board of Trustees Rep/liaison to the Board).